Skip to content

My Bone Marrow Transplant

Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.

Wikipedia: Sorafenib (co-developed and co-marketed by Bayer and Onyx Pharmaceuticals as Nexavar), is a drug approved for the treatment of primary kidney cancer (advanced renal cell carcinoma) and advanced primary liver cancer (hepatocellular carcinoma).

I was prescribed Sorafenib in June 2011 and I am still taking the full dose. It is rare, according to my doctor, for someone to tolerate the drug this long. I don’t have either of the cancers mentioned above, but studies have shown that it can reverse the mutation of the FLT-3 gene which is known to be implicated in Acute Myeloid Leukaemia (AML). Again, from Wikipedia: Adverse effects of sorafenib include skin rash, hand-foot skin reactions, diarrhea, and hypertension. A case of diffuse yellow discoloration of the skin has been reported. Sorafenib has also been implicated in the development of reversible posterior leukoencephalopathy syndrome and reversible erythrocytosis.

I get a few, transient, skin rashes; my blood pressure is slightly elevated and I get intermittent diarrhoea. I have never had the hand-foot skin reaction. And my FLT-3 gene is back to normal!

I will stop taking the drug a week before the start of the transplant so that it does not interfere with the drugs they will use then.

