Skip to content

My Bone Marrow Transplant

Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.

Today we woke up to overcast skies and, sure enough, it rained for a short while during the morning. Linds’ cousins, Yvee and J0nas, came round and she went out with them. I’m starting to feel continuous slight nausea, eating breakfast was fine but lunch was a bit if a struggle; I managed about half of it.

They took blood for the first time since Wednesday and the nurse reported back later that my counts were dropping but only a little. It will be checked daily from now on. My BP and Temperature are boringly normal; those are checked every 4 hours. I mentioned before that I have to record all “input and output” and they provide me with a sheet on which to do it. The nurses call it the IO sheet. One of my Os hadn’t functioned since Thursday morning so a magical golden liquid was ingested mid morning which had the desired effect. I probably weigh about 1.5Kg lighter than I did when I woke up today.

The Doctor commented on my watching the container port cranes when he visited earlier, so I told him that I had never seen one move. “Perhaps Singapore has a Container Port theme park” I speculated. Now I’ll have to think of rides for it. Hackneyed I know, but there has to be one called “The Stowaway.” And one on the theme of Somali pirates rather than the romanticised stuff you find in Disneyland.

Oh, and I forgot to mention yesterday the excitement of watching some men paint the outside of my room. They did it using rollers on long handles so privacy wasn’t an issue. I should have made a sign saying “Help, a mad Doctor has imprisoned me for dastardly experiments. Please get the police.” But this is Singapore so they probably would have.

