Skip to content

My Bone Marrow Transplant

Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.

I don’t know what medication they gave me last night but I spent the whole night watching the most weird, beautiful and sometimes disturbing images being generated by my brain. If you could have videoed it it would win Oscars in every category. Tonight they will give me a sleeping pill. I have had some of my weirdest dreams ever during this stay in hospital.

So far today I have retched once and eaten: 1 pancake, 2 bananas and a curry puff. Drink has been  2 cups of Milo, 2 cans of PokkaP Green Tea and the odd sip of water. Dinner has just been served, let’s see how that goes down. Later: it didn’t.

The Bone Marrow Biopsy was done late morning; I would rate the doctor a 7 out of 10. Afterwards I had to lie flat on my back for 2 – 3 hours to help stop the bleeding. The BMB entails you assuming the position as if you were about to receive a digital prostrate examination; older men will know of what I speak. Then they inject some Lidocaine local anaesthetic close to where the hip and the spine meet, Then they stick a needle into the hip bone, which can take several minutes and suck out marrow. The worst part is when they suck out the marrow which is the most peculiar sensation. The doctor will say “big breath on 3”, he counts to 3 and on 3 he sucks the marrow out and you take a deep breath in to minimise the discomfort. They sucked 4 times to get a full sample because my marrow is quite dry after all the chemo that I have had. And just to remind you of who is in charge he then trephines a piece of bone for DNA and Genetic analysis.

Elcee and Jonji came to  visit again before heading back to KL on the coach this evening. I was very sad when they had to leave.

