Skip to content

My Bone Marrow Transplant

Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.

We came for a routine check up this morning and I have been admitted back to my old room in Ward 48. The problem is some rashes on my forearms have got a lot “angrier” looking in the past 2 days and they suspect it is mild Graft Versus Host Disease (GVHD).

Normally they would not admit me but because it is Chinese New Year next week things could be difficult if it gets worse quickly. I have no idea how long I will be in, it depends on how the rashes respond to steroid treatment. I want to be out as soon as possible.

Linds is on her way home to pick up essentials and bring them to the hospital for me.

We had a nice chat with 2 other transplant patients this morning while waiting to see the doctors. They are both considerably younger than me and had sibling donors; one is at Day 90 the other at Day 60. It’s good to share experiences with other patients; only they and their caregivers truly understand what this is like.

Blood counts were all fine today. Go figure!

