Skip to content

My Bone Marrow Transplant

Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.

To the hospital today for my weekly check up. It has been 10 days since my last one so it was time to see if I was doing as well as I felt. Blood counts were OK except my Neutrophil count was high which would indicate an infection, but there are no other signs. Some signs of Mucositis in my mouth so I have to gargle 4 times a day. Medication changes as well. I’m back on the anti-viral acyclovir which was stopped because of the creatinine problem which has stabilised, and prednisolone (the steroid) reduced to 25mg a day from 30mg, ciclosporin and mycophenalate now have different dosages in the morning and evening just to keep me on my toes. This is the area where medicine becomes more “art” than “science”, when the doctors experience comes to the fore.

