Skip to content

My Bone Marrow Transplant

Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.

Hair is growing on my upper lip and chin. Not much, but it is encouraging after weeks of having a face as smooth as the proverbial baby’s bottom. There is a little bit of bum fluff on my cheeks as well! I might have to start shaving again soon!

A transplant is for life, not just for Christmas. This just popped into my head today, I guess the fact that I engrafted on Christmas Day has been stirring around in my subconscious.

I’ve been on the ACOR GVHD list server following a thread about GVHD of the Lungs. Not nice, even the treatments have serious side effects. One to avoid if possible. Another thread was started by a woman about her Skin GVHD which has reoccurred 4 years after her transplant. She has no rashes but the dark, burnt looking, skin which I have on my back and upper chest. Mine is clearing up quite quickly now. Sobering to think it can reoccur after such a long time.

A Qi Gong session this morning then Josep and Monica came to visit in the afternoon. Josep knows I love Opera and he gave me a CD of Cecilia Bartoli singing arias by Gluck. I can listen to her while enduring the long waits in the hospital.

We walked 2.3Km this evening. It is getting much warmer and a lot more humid so breathing was more difficult and I sweated more.

