Skip to content

My Bone Marrow Transplant

Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.

Hospital check up today. It was raining hard so there were no taxis available out where we live. In the end we had to take the bus! This meant a 500m walk including a footbridge over a major road, carrying a heavy rucksack and an umbrella in pouring rain. Then a rest on the bus before a further 500m walk uphill to the hospital in the rain. I was not impressed, and we were very late.

After blood taking I headed to my office by taxi to pick up some documents and chat to a few people, then back to the hospital in plenty of time for the doctor. My blood counts are OK’ish, and he has cut down the steroid, Prednisolone, from 20mg a day to 17.5mg per day. This meant we had to buy a Pill Cutter as they don’t do 2.5mg tablets. So I have lots of 5mg and 1mg tablets, one of which I have to cut in half every morning and discard the unused half. There is still a bit of oral mucositis.

Next Wednesday they will do a Bone Marrow Biopsy, standard procedure close to Day +100. If this shows that I am clear of disease then there won’t be another one until close to the 1 year mark.

