Skip to content

My Bone Marrow Transplant

Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.

It’s been 21 weeks since the transplant. I just thought that I would mention that!

Igna and I are in KL staying at Villa Villa. Last night I wasn’t sure if I would be able to make the trip because of the migraine and some Upper GI discomfort which felt like the GvHD was getting stronger, but at 7:30am this morning I felt a lot better.

The journey by Odyssey Bus was mostly incident free. The bus company staff were courteous and helpful throughout. We had plenty of space as there were only 8 passengers. I knew from Prudy’s experience of doing the same trip recently that the 11am bus was likely to be lightly loaded which is why I chose it.

There was a slight panic when we got to Singapore Immigration and Igna did not have her Departure card in her passport, or with the other papers in her hand bag. Luckily she had it in her bag in the hold of the bus so we didn’t have any delays. After we had passed through Malaysian Immigration I made sure Igna left the Malaysian departure card in her passport!

The Singapore Immigration lady asked me why I looked so different from my passport photo and I explained about the Leukaemia, chemo and transplant. She asked how my recovery was going and I said so far so good. Two positive experiences of Singapore Immigration in the same week. Malaysian Immigration didn’t say a word, but they did fingerprint me.

The bus terminus in KL is a short walk from Villa Villa, but because it had been raining hard they brought the car to pick us up. Yaya Elena had baked me an Apple Crumble! That and a double espresso settled me in and then Elcee and I skyped with Linds.

Dinner was Nasi Lemak, Chicken Rendang, hard boiled eggs with sambal, and string beans followed by fresh Rambutan and Mangosteen! It’s been so long since I have eaten either fruit; sheer unadulterated bliss!

It’s a lovely, airy house, 3 storeys with a small swimming pool as a feature between the living and dining rooms. My room (Juan Miguel’s room really) is at the front of the house and has a large balcony. Apart from the Arsenal banner above the desk it is very restful!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

