Skip to content

My Bone Marrow Transplant

Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.

“Welcome Home” Orchids from Angel & David

Last night I slept in my own bed for the 22nd night since March 1 2011. I had a late night text message interchange at 11:30pm.

Friend to me: Are you awake?

Me to friend: No.

Friend to me: Hahaha. Can I call you?

Me to friend: Sure.

And I went to the den to chat to him so I would not wake Linds up. We will have lunch on Wednesday.

Today we started by going to the Polo Club Salon for me to get a Manicure and Pedicure. Linds had the same plus some other things that men don’t want to think about. The first friend we saw since arriving was Mo, Sam’s classmate and the son of David and Angel. He was in the Sports Lounge where I was waiting for Linds’ processing to be complete. I had my first fresh Buko in 15 months! While waiting to be picked up we bumped into Jennifer and her son Daniel and caught up with her. We got home for lunch and there was a beautiful Orchid display from David and Angel to say welcome home. Lunch was Pancit Puti.

The afternoon was filled with visitors. First Linds’ former schoolmate Carmen came round to pick up the iPhone 4S we bought for her in Singapore. Then Sandy came down (she lives 2 floors up) to say welcome home and thank us for the Nespresso Pixie machine that we got her; she brought us 2 cakes so we had to try one of them and it was heavenly. Then Linds’ sisters and father and niece came round for a family reunion, which of course meant more food. And there was still dinner to be eaten!

