Skip to content

My Bone Marrow Transplant

Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.

Today is the 6 month anniversary of my transplant. Thank you all for the support and love during this challenge.

The GvHD flare-up continues which makes me feel slightly under the weather. I drank some fresh Buko juice after breakfast and it made my stomach cramp for a few minutes. The good news is that I was only up once last night at just before 4am, and taking the Itraconazole 2 hours after food is definitely better than taking it 1 hour before.

The apartment was busy all day as we prepared to host a small leaving dinner for Sukanya and Leela who are off to live in Tokyo for at least the next 3 years. Dulce was here before 9am to help Linds with the preparations. Joost and Naomi made it even though they were moving to their new apartment today and they were in total chaos in the middle of unpacking!

The party was very enjoyable, 8 adults and 6 teenagers. 30 minutes before the guests were due to arrive I had some severe stomach cramps and was wondering if I would be able to participate, but when people started to arrive I was OK. Sam’s FaceBook account was heavily fraped by the girls; more fool him for telling them his laptop password. Edna cooked a wonderful meal and everyone went back for more. Leela made a beautiful thank you speech to her friends, who all recorded it on their mobile phones, you would think they would have designated one to do the recording and then share it. We also had a cake for Sukanya in celebration of her birthday next week.

It was great to see David when he came to pick up Angel. He couldn’t make the dinner as he had an event he had to speak at. They are off to Cannes tomorrow and we will catch up with him properly when they get back.

It wasn’t until I went to rest for a while at 11pm that I realised how tired I was! Being with some of our closest friends was such a delight.

