Skip to content

My Bone Marrow Transplant

Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.

My eyes were pretty bad first thing this morning, a consequence of the reduced cyclosporin dose. By early afternoon they had improved.

I was supposed to have a Skype call and a lunch today but neither materialised. I have no idea why the Skype call didn’t happen but my lunch date has ‘flu so no way were we going to meet. Pity, I was looking forward to Fish ‘n Chips.

This morning I shaved with a wet razor for the first time since early March 2011. It felt strange but I’m sure that I will get used to it very quickly again. Another milestone. The shave is so much smoother than that from an electric razor. Trivia fact: I don’t use shaving foam and haven’t for years, I use shaving oil. Less bulky to carry around when you spend a lot of time on the road. A few drops is all you need each time.

It is so much quicker to take a shower without the Hickman line in my chest! It was there for so long that I had forgotten how restricting and time consuming it was both before and after the shower.

We are getting ready for our family holiday in Bacolod, Siquijor and Dumaguete next week. No laptops allowed but there will be at least 3 cameras.