Skip to content

My Bone Marrow Transplant

Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.

I felt really good today even with the edema and the eye problems. Three years ago today I started my first chemotherapy session in Queen Mary hospital in Hong Kong. On July 2 the first Hickman line was inserted, and after 24 hours the treatment commenced.

It started raining sometime between 2:15am and 4am and it hasn’t stopped except for a brief interval in mid afternoon. There were a few foolhardy souls playing at Manila Golf this morning though. The good news is that it is so cool we haven’t needed to use any air conditioners today. And the rain clears some of the pollution out of the atmosphere.

This morning I reduced the Prednisolone dose to 7.5mg as instructed by Prof. Liang so let’s see what happens. It usually takes at least 24 hours to see any effects.

I had lunch with Brian at Draft in The Fort. Reports said the Fish N’ Chips were very good so it had to be checked out. The reports were right; big pieces of nicely cooked Plaice and proper Chips, even though they are pretentious by calling them Frites on the menu! We lost contact while I was in Singapore because he had his mobile, laptop and Kindle stolen from his bag on a flight to Bangkok a few months ago. Luckily he got his old phone number back and when I texted him on my return he responded. We both thought the other was dead and were delighted to find out that we were wrong!

