Skip to content

My Bone Marrow Transplant

Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.

Today I went back to the Polo Club driving range for the first time since early March 2011. I just hit one bucket of balls very gently using the irons and the Pitching Wedge. Just to see what it was going to be like, whether I still liked it, whether I could hit it still.

My former instructor, Gary, was there and his face when he saw me was a picture of shock and delight. We had a long chat and agreed to resume lessons in late November when I had done a bit more exercise and remedial work.

I hit some good shots and some terrible shots as you would expect. I wasn’t trying to hit hard, more of a 3/4 swing. I stopped a couple of times to rest but over all I was encouraged.

