Skip to content

My Bone Marrow Transplant

Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.

Today, one year ago, I received my stem cell transplant in Room 1 of the BMT unit of Singapore General Hospital. The stem cell infusion started at 11:48am and finished at 2pm. 292ml of straw coloured liquid which has given me new life.

I cannot begin to express my gratitude to my donor for his generosity, the doctors and nurses at SGH for their outstanding care, Dr. Raymond Liang in Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital for arranging for SGH to take me for transplant after Queen Mary’s in HK rejected me as “too high risk” and for his care during the past 6 months after Dr. Goh allowed me to come home. And to you, dear readers, who supported my family and me as we went through this year.

