Skip to content

My Bone Marrow Transplant

Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.

On August 1 I stopped Prednisone and Sporanox. The effects have taken some time to work through. Tiredness, scalp itchiness, a patch on the inside of my right elbow which felt for days as if I had a rash or graze but there were no visible signs and a patch on my left chest which was similar. Both places were tender to the touch and would also have shooting pains at random and not infrequent intervals, sometimes quite strongly. Thankfully this has died down in the last 48 hours. I have also had some depression. I will be fine for hours and then a wave of depression will sweep over me. Maybe the chemical balance getting itself sorted out, it must take time after having taken those drugs for 20 months.

I have not had any Gut GI flare up which is really good news. My appetite is as it was before. I even had a quite spicy Beef Rendang at a dinner party last Saturday night with no ill effects.

My next check up is in Hong Kong on August 27. I’ve decided to focus my aftercare with HKSH in future. I hope we can set a date for starting the vaccination program!

